Nature’s City

Nature’s City was the original idea I investigated in my interactive design class my Junior year. I am fascinated by the concept of nature living like humans.  In Milan, There are two towers that are being build to house both trees and people. The buildings are designed to allow as much lighting for the plants, without interfering the necessary circuitry and waterways the building needs for its human tenants. Looking back at the city, I could appreciate the simplicity. Conceptually, it has the dialogue of man coexisting with nature by providing spaces for nature to come in and live. In the center Circle, I plan to put a Bonzai tree in the center, since the foundation is small and till not overtake the confined foundation. There were many opportunities with this concept, as the clay disks would provide nutrients for plants and moss that grow on rocks as oppose to soil. Each tray is designed to collect water from its inner pipe, in order for the plants that are stacked in the trays can receive more water and have an equal opportunity to live.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment